Submit Event

ANU Energy Change Institute presents

ANU energy update 2017

One-day summit


29th November 2017


Copland Lecture Theatre, Building 25, Australian National University, ACT 2601


Prof Ken Baldwin
Mr Ian Cronshaw
Mr Damian Dwyer
Dr Alan Finkel
Prof Quentin Grafton
Dr Jennifer Hunt
Mr Ben Jarvis
Prof Frank Jotzo
Dr Mike Kelly
Dr Justine Lacey
Dr Ross Lambie
Prof Yun Liu
Prof Brian Schmidt
Dr Xunpeng (Roc) Shi
Mr Qiang Wang

The ANU Energy Update is the ECI’s annual flagship event – a one-day summit that brings together energy researchers, policymakers, industry and the public to provide an overview of the latest world energy trends.

The day will feature national and international presenters from government, research and the private sector discussing a range of energy issues including global and regional outlooks, new technologies, energy security, energy access and energy productivity.

This year’s program includes:

Introduction by Professor Ken Baldwin, Director, Energy Change Institute

Welcome by Professor Brian Schmidt, Vice-Chancellor, ANU

Opening address by The Honorable Dr Mike Kelly, Shadow Assistant Minister for Defence Industry and Support

Implementing the National Electricity Market Review – A keynote address by Dr Alan Finkel, Chief Scientist.

2017 World Energy Outlook (WEO) – A special presentation by Mr Ian Cronshaw, International Energy Agency (IEA), Paris.

China’s Energy Outlook

Introduction by Chair, Professor Yun Liu, Rsearch School of Chemistry

Presentation by Prof Frank Jotzo, Crawford School of Public Policy

China is a focus theme of the WEO2017.

Panel discussion and Q&A

  • Mr Qiang Wang, Embassy of the P.R. China
  • Dr Xunpeng (Roc) Shi, University of Technology Sydney
  • Mr Ben Jarvis, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Making Sense of Australian Gas Policy

Introduction by Chair, Dr Jennifer Hunt, College of Asia and the Pacific. Presentation by Prof Quentin Grafton, Crawford School of Public Policy

Gas is a focus theme of the WEO2017.

Panel discussion and Q&A

  • Dr Ross Lambie, Dept. of the Environment and Energy
  • Mr Damian Dwyer, Australian Petroleum Production & Exploration Association
  • Dr Justine Lacey, CSIRO Land and Water

Lunch and morning/afternoon teas will be included.

Registration for Energy Update is essential.

The ANU Energy Update will be followed at 6pm in the same theatre (Copland) by the ANU annual Solar Oration – The Australian Energy Transition by Ms Audrey Zibelman, CEO of the Australian Energy Market Operator. Register separately for the Solar Oration here.

Energy Update 2017 is hosted by the ANU Energy Change Institute and sponsored by ActewAGL.

Image by Cummings Properties on Flickr 

Press Ctrl+C to copy