Submit Event

The Centre for Climate and Economics Policy presents


Australia’s post-2020 emissions target


Public forum


20th March 2015


Molonglo Theatre, Level 2, JG Crawford Building 132, Lennox Crossing, The Australian National University.


Peter Woolcott, Australia’s Ambassador for the Environment; plus many other prominent speakers from universities, research organisations, business associations and think tanks.



All countries have been called on to submit a pledge for their ‘intended nationally determined contributions’ to future global climate action, ahead of the Paris UN climate conference. The government process for deciding Australia’s post-2020 greenhouse gas emissions target is underway. There is a substantial amount of research and analysis relevant to this decision.

In this public forum, leading researchers and commentators will present their analysis and perspectives on options for Australia’s post-2020 emissions target and issues affecting it. Presentations will touch on: options for framing a national pledge and methods to assess an appropriate contribution by Australia; international perceptions and comparisons with other countries; long-term options for Australia to get on a low-emissions pathway including energy decarbonisation and land-based carbon sequestration; and suitable policies and institutions.

The forum will be opened with a keynote address by Peter Woolcott, Australia’s Ambassador for the Environment.

Speakers include:

  • Howard Bamsey, ANU
  • Peter Castellas, Carbon Market Institute
  • Alex Gosman, Australian Industry Greenhouse Network
  • Anthea Harris, Climate Change Authority
  • Steve Hatfield-Dodds, CSIRO
  • John Hewson, Crawford School, ANU
  • Erwin Jackson, The Climate Institute
  • Frank Jotzo, Crawford School, ANU
  • Andrew Macintosh, ANU
  • Malte Meinshausen, University of Melbourne
  • Anna Skarbek, ClimateWorks Australia

This forum is presented by the Centre for Climate and Economics Policy at Crawford School of Public Policy, The Australian National University.

Press Ctrl+C to copy