Submit Event

Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering (ATSE) presents

National technology challenges dialogue 2016 – Agribusiness 2030

15 and 16 June 2016


15th June 2016
16th June 2016


The Sofitel Wentworth, 61-101 Phillip Street, Sydney , NSW 2000


Ms Anika Molesworth, 2015 Australian Young Farmer of the Year
Dr John Manners, Director, CSIRO Agriculture
plus many more


Full price Dialogue ticket: $990 incl. GST pp (including Innovation Dinner); $890 incl. GST pp (Dialogue only) please contact for more details

The 2016 Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering (ATSE) National Technology Challenges Dialogue: Agribusiness 2030 will bring together Australia’s top agriculture and agribusiness leaders and innovators from research, industry and government to explore the opportunities and challenges for agribusiness in the digital age.

Agribusiness 2030 will feature discussions exploring the role of technology and innovation in the future of Australia’s agribusiness sector, with a vision of the opportunities, possibilities and challenges this sector faces over the next 15 years. Australian and international experts will address fields including climate change, biotechnology, digital agriculture, and community attitudes to technology.

Agribusiness 2030 has been designed to encourage and facilitate audience engagement with the invited speakers, and proceedings will be underpinned from the outset by the Dialogue Issues Paper which will link each session under the broader theme.

ATSE’s presentation of the Clunies Ross Awards, in recognition of remarkable accomplishments of Australia’s science and technology achievers over the past 23 years, will continue at the Innovation Dinner on 15 June, as a key part of Agribusiness 2030.

Agribusiness 2030 offers an unparalleled opportunity to discuss technological innovation in the future of Australian agribusiness, and chart a course to realise its potential in a challenging environment.

Featured speakers include:

Ms Anika Molesworth
2015 Australian Young Farmer of the Year
Anika Molesworth was the 2015 Australian Young Farmer of the Year and represented young farmers at the COP21 climate conference. She helps manage her family’s sheep station near Broken Hill and is a strong advocate for greater adoption of renewable energies in agriculture. She runs the blog Climate Wise Agriculture to promote climate change adaptation and mitigation strategies. She worked in Laos with farmers researching climate change resilience by reducing production risk for her Master of Sustainable Agriculture thesis. She is also keenly interested in conservation of natural and cultural heritage on farming properties and manages the International National Trusts Organisation’s Sustainable Farms program.

Dr Johen Manners
Director, CSIRO Agriculture
Dr John Manners is the Director of CSIRO Agriculture which coordinates and integrates all of CSIRO’s research on plant animal improvement including aquaculture species, farming systems, science for sustainable production and international research aimed at improving food security globally. Dr Manners has a BSc Hons from the University of Nottingham, a PhD from the University of London and a DIC from Imperial College, London. He has co-authored more than 200 refereed publications, with more than 6500 citations, and has been a co-inventor on 10 patent applications. Recent significant positions include: Deputy CEO Cooperative Research Centre for Tropical Plant Protection, Honorary Professor in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at The University of Queensland, Board Director of the International Society for Plant Molecular Biology and Member of the Gene Technology Technical Advisory Committee of the Australian Government’s Office of the Gene Technology Regulator (OGTR).

More speakers to be announced soon.

For conference program and registration please visit the conference website:

Dr Andrew Hastings (for program enquiries)
Senior Research & Policy Officer
T: 03 9864 0909

Katja Krönke (for registration enquiries)
ATSE Events Co-ordinator
T: 03 9864 0919



Press Ctrl+C to copy